The Cost and Benefits of Owning a Dog


I have this dog right? He’s a Rat Terrier. I’ve had him for six years now, having got him from a puppy mill that (thank God) has gone out of business.

Rat Terriers have the distinctive face of The Lone Ranger.You know the, mask thing. If you stare at them long enough you’ll see the resemblance. That’s how Bandit got his name. He looks like a masked Bandit.

Anyway, long story short, I have never had anyone or anything embedded in my life like Bandit.

He’s  my best friend, confidant, protector, and on a real good day a very energetic child.I had talked about his antics so much one time a work, my co-workers thought he was a human being.

I’ll tell you this if people had the personality of some dogs, we’d be living in a lot more of a pleasant world.

Now dogs have residual costs. But so do husbands and wives.But that’s a story for another post.

If you’re thinking about getting a dog and want some kind idea of the cost vs benefits the chart below will get you started.

And the benefit info, I can tell you, it’s on point. So much so, I can concede after initially wondering six years ago if owning a dog was right for me that owning a dog is priceless.

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

Leave a Reply

