A Productive Day Starts With Making Your Bed


Embed from Getty Images

Every morning in basic SEAL training, my instructors, who at the time were all Vietnam veterans, would show up in my barracks room and the first thing they would inspect was your bed.

If you did it right, the corners would be square, the covers pulled tight, the pillow centered just under the headboard and the extra blanket folded neatly at the foot of the rack — rack — that’s Navy talk for bed.

It was a simple task – mundane at best. But every morning we were required to make our bed to perfection. It seemed a little ridiculous at the time, particularly in light of the fact that we were aspiring to be real warriors, tough battle-hardened SEALs – but the wisdom of this simple act has been proven to me many times over.

If you make your bed every morning, you will have accomplished the first task of the day. It will give you a small sense of pride and it will encourage you to do another task and another and another.Source – Brett & Kate Mckay – The Art of Manliness

I have found the above revelation from the Art of Manliness to be true.

When I make my bed in the morning I am rewarded with the satisfaction of completing my fist task of the day and am motivated to move on the next one more easily. For me that is shower, shave, and get dressed. When my bed is made, I tend to pay more attention to the finer details of getting dressed. At work I have noticed that I am more methodical when approaching tasks and glide through one to the other.

That one little mundane task can actually set the momentum for the rest of the day. The sense and pride of accomplishing something at the very beginning of the day is a magnet for repetitive behavior of the same because of the high of the mental reward.

If you are already making your bed in the mornings, add another task that can be completed in the morning before you proceed to get involved in your normal day.

The Art of Manliness Article highlights nine other Navy Seal techniques that can be implemented into your life.

Read the rest of the article Want to Change the World? Start by Making Your Bed over at The Art of Manliness.

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

Leave a Reply

