I Ate Spaghetti Made With Deer And Didn’t Know It


1436920

I’ve been cooling my heels in the southern North Carolina for the past six months. During that six months deer hunting season came and went. During deer hunting season in North Carolina nobody goes hungry unless they want to. If you can’t find anything else to eat you’re guaranteed to find deer. Folks give it away.

Rural North Carolina is over run with deer and hunting season gives anybody with a shotgun and hunting licence the opportunity to diminish the threat of deer taking over the state by shooting them. Hell depending upon where you live you don’t even have to “go in the woods” hunting. The deer will walk in your backyard.

With such a copius deer population becoming fair game deer is going to show up in some recipes in some form or another on tables all across the state. And if you’re  not careful you’ll consume some deer without realizing what you ate.

Some folks are opposed to eating deer – they can’t get around the Bambi illusion. However from my perspective deer is is no worse on our health than some of the other meats we consume. It’s lean, deer are vegetarians so their meat has to have an array good stuff going on in it.

Anyway, my mom called me and asked me if I wanted to join her and dad for some spaghetti. My response was,

“Sure”.

I showed up at dinnertime and loaded my plate up with hot spaghetti, meat, and gooey hot cheese. I topped it of with a good smothering of parmesiam cheese.

It was delicious. I don’t eat everybody’s “hamburger” recipes because some hamburger can be as greasy as a shady used car salesman’s hair. Yall know that hamburger I’m talking about. It’s the one that leaves your mouth oily and when you burp it’s a mixture of grease oily  tasting something.

This spaghetti didn’t have any after taste at all. No heavy “sitting on the stomach” effect, no greasy aftertaste.

I told mom that she must have used some real lean hamburger to make the dish.

She smiled and said,

It was real lean, it wasn’t hamburger, though. It was deer.”

Well, I was fooled and so was dad.

I went back for seconds and thirds then showed up again around 11:00 PM for more.

I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised mom pulled this dish off. The week after Christmas she made deer “burgers” for my daughter that tasted better than anything you can get at the burger “chains”.

One conclusion I’ve come to after going through deer season in N.C. is that deer is good eating. I don’t understand why more grocers (especially in N.C.) don’t offer it on the shelf.

Do you have any deer recipes that are awesome? Do tell in the comment section.

If you want to try your hand at whipping up a spaghetti and venison dish here is a recipe I foud at Allrecipes.com.

“This recipe is quick and easy. The venison is such a clean taste that mixes well with the plethora of spices. It takes no time at all and taste even better the next day.”

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 ounce) package angel hair pasta
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound cubed lean venison
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans tomato sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried dill
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried marjoram
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • 4 ounces shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray a casserole dish with cooking spray.
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add spaghetti and cook for 3 to 5 minutes or until al dente; drain.
  3. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat until it begins to smoke. Add venison and cook until well browned, about 5 minutes. Stir in onion and green pepper, continue cooking until softened, about 4 minutes. Add tomato paste and tomato sauce, season with garlic salt, dill, marjoram, and Italian seasoning. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium, and simmer for 5 minutes.
  4. Place drained pasta into prepared casserole dish and pour venison overtop. sprinkle with Mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. Bake in preheated oven until the cheese is bubbly and browned, about 25 minutes.

 

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

Leave a Reply

