After Another Disappearing Act Maxwell is Set To Release A New Album

Grammy Award Winning Crooner Maxwell is Gearing Up To Drop New Music in 2016

maxwell-tears

After another one of his famous hiatuses, R&B crooner Maxwell is set to release a new single and album this year.

Maxwell has remained extremely elusive over the course of his career. The Grammy award-winning artist’s modus operandi is to give us a collection of mega hits in long-awaited project releases, tour a little and then fade into oblivion for years before he’s heard from again. He doesn’t make too many public appearances, he doesn’t do many interviews, and he’s not seen too often outside of live performances.

Prior to the release of the first installment of the ‘BLACKSummers’Night trilogy, the grammy award, and lady winning singer has been in obscurity for almost a decade.

Now after a six-year post BLACKSummers’Night hiatus, he’s back with the second leg of the ‘BLACKSummers’Night trilogy project. This project is said to have a new sound.

While speaking with ESSENCE the 42-year-old entertainer, who made his musical debut nearly 20 years ago with his Maxwell Urban Hang Suite, couldn’t quite contain himself when describing his new sound.

“I’m so hyped about the new album coming out,” he said. “It’s fresh and it’s different, but it is what I do. It doesn’t make you feel like, oh, yeah, that’s going to come out in 1996. You’re not going to feel that. At least I hope you don’t.”

Maxwell attributes the growth of his sound to the passing of his grandmother and cousin.

“I’m at the point with the album where it’s just like … With the passing of my cousin, and my grandmother passing away … Me turning 40, and being 42 now, and having a whole sort of new milestone in my life, where a lot of my mind is grown up, and I’m thinking in terms of the next 10 years, and what I’m going to try to do for the next ten years, which is something I never really … I mean, I did it, but I’m not doing it as much as I do now. I’m just hyped. We have two and a half years of just consistent, around the world, going everywhere, traveling, doing shows…It’s funny, because I remember reading Marvin Gaye’s biography when I was, like, seventeen years old, Divided Soul. He always said something that really stuck with me. He said, “You can rush to fail, or you can take your time to succeed.” I’m happy that I haven’t exhausted people’s visions to the point where they’ll never want to listen to me.” [SOURCE]

It’s reported the new work is slated for a summer release. I know I’m on it as soon as it’s available.
What is your favorite single from the first installment of ‘BLACKSummers’Night?

Mine is “Bad Habits”
Enjoy.

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

1 thought on “After Another Disappearing Act Maxwell is Set To Release A New Album”

Leave a Reply

