Happy Sunday – Bishop Bull Winka – Hell To The Naw Naw


1450467323_hqdefault

I discovered this religiously laced tune wedged between a juke joint DJ’s transition from Al Green to Fetty Wap. It was Sunday Night in a rural southern N.C. town. I was out for drinks, conversation, and good food.

A bar trap had her exposed cleavage trying to talk to my chin when the DJ went from “Let’s Stay Together  into something called “Hell To Da Naw”I gently nudged the trap back onto her barstool.The cleavage pouted.

The cleavage pouted. I could have sworn the one on the left winked.

Why in the hell is this DJ playing a church song in a juke joint? The jam had church beat. The jam had church  words.

Words like “deacon”, “preach”, and “sermon  jumped out.

I had to get my mind right for this one. I had to leave the cleavage on the stool to get my mind right.

The song was a sermon within a song that gave you five minutes church without the offering and theatrics.

I researched the song online and found it on youtube. I’m still perplexed as to the rationale behind a juke joint DJ pushing it in a club.  So what I’m going to do is let you decide for yourself on where you want to take this one.

Some find “Bishop Bull Winka ” a folk tale of sorts. Funny name aside, he takes you to church in Hell To Da Naw.

Happy Sunday

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

2 thoughts on “Happy Sunday – Bishop Bull Winka – Hell To The Naw Naw”

  1. How ’bout my 22 year old son showed me this video several months back. It seems that he and his college roommates stumbled across it on YouTube. They play it whenever they need a good laugh.

    That said, I hollered when I saw that you blogged about it. LOL!

    BTW, you really did a great job of setting the scene at that Southern bar.

    What a gem this is 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind and motivating comments. I still haven’t figured out why a DJ had that one in his rotation but the crowd didn’t seem to mind. When he went from that one to Fetty Wap’s “Mine Again” they never batted an eye. It is a song that will take the edge off of a tense day and trigger laughter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

