What Is The Optimum Number Of Sex Partners Adults Should Have?


8388181

How many sex partners have you had in your lifetime? That’s a question a lot of people don’t think about while others keep tabs on like they do a cell phone data cap. It’s a question that some folks care not to answer but on the same hand want an answer to from those they get involved with. The interpretation of what the number “notches” one has in their belt means is subjective to the individual critiquing the count.

What is the threshold number of sex partners we should have before we are considered to have crossed the threshold into hoeism?

A 20015 study published in the Archives of Sexual Behavior found that millennials are on pace to sleep with an average of eight partners during their lifetimes, fewer than Generation X (10 partners) and the baby boomers (11 partners).

Studies and polls that seek to arrive at a median number seem to come up somewhere around the number Ten.

Now when some people get into committed relationships they don’t like to divulge the number of sexual partners they’ve paired up with in the past. That doesn’t mean that their significant others aren’t curious and maybe put off by a high number.

One study revealed that,

  • Men are more wary of women who had a score higher than women are of men with high scores.
  • Any figure above 20 was a big turn-off to men and women – chosen by 3% of women and 4% of men.
  • Just 35% of women wanted to know a man’s total.
  • For men, only 30% wanted to know a woman’s sexual history

So what do you think is an acceptable figure for one’s past sexcapades?

 

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

1 thought on “What Is The Optimum Number Of Sex Partners Adults Should Have?”

  1. Reblogged this on Palteia and commented:
    I’m rebooting an interesting commentary discussing the differences between the average number of sexual partners among different generations. It’s self-reported and self-defined (from an ongoing, longitudinal study called the General Social Survey), and it struck me as a bisexual I’m not sure how I would define it myself.

    With most of my male partners, I never had intercourse. Indeed, within the three very serious relationships in my life, in one of them there was no intercourse. (He didn’t bottom at all and he was way too massive for me to enjoy being on the receiving end.) On the other hand, I had a couple of one night stands that included full intercourse, but other than no relationship, so they seem to just barely count as a partner.

    If one counts full intercourse, my number is 9, but if one includes “mutually satisfying sexual gratification” it would be 21.

    Among women, I’ve had full intercourse with 4 and brought off 4 others. Among men, full intercourse with 5 and mutual satisfaction with 8 others. In other words, it’s been more common when I’ve been with men to have only other forms of pleasure (even in very serious long term relationships) than in my experiences with women. Also, even though my number of partners skew towards men, in actually by far the greatest proportion of my experience (in terms of number of encounters) has been with females, as I’ve tended to have longer term relationships with women (including my current marriage of 11 years).

    It just struck me that when I think of sexual partner, I initially think of people I have had intercourse with. (I think I’ve been reading too much male/male romance, where relationships generally aren’t real until the couple has full on intercourse.) However, of my three very serious relationships the one with a man didn’t include intercourse, and in my experience a significant number of men who have sex with men may rarely or never have intercourse. So I wonder if how one defines a sex partner might vary significantly among folks of different orientions.

    Indeed, women who have sex with women could easily have wonderfully satisfying relationships with little or no penetration that could be considered intercourse. So I guess it’s all in the eye of the beholder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

