What Your Hanging Toilet Paper Says About You


800px-toilettenpapierhalter

The First Really Important Survey of American Habits” by Barry Sinrod and Mel Poretz, found that the way people hang their toilet paper put them in one of two income brackets. Sixty percent of those who made over $50,000 ($96,000 in 2016 dollars) preferred the over style, while 73 percent of those who made under $20,000 ($38,000 in 2016 dollars) go for the under hang.

Asked what he made of the results, Sinrod said “I don’t know, but it’s sure interesting.”

And toilet paper orientations can be interesting when you start looking into them.Some researching the subject have proposed connections to age, sex, or political philosophy.

Yes, most of us could care less about how our “striking paper” hangs on the roll as long as it’s enough on the roll to clean up the business at hand. If you are one that’s anal (no pun intended – just shrewd writing) what is your reason for your preference?

Wikipedia lists some arguments and reasons for over / under toilet paper hanging preferences.

  • Over reduces the risk of accidentally brushing the wall or cabinet with one’s knuckles, potentially transferring grime and germs.
  • Over makes it easier to visually locate and to grasp the loose end.
  • Over gives hotels, cruise ships, office buildings, public places and homeowners with guest bathrooms the option to fold over the last sheet to show that the room has been cleaned.
  • Over is generally the intended direction of viewing for the manufacturer’s branding, so patterned toilet paper looks better this way.
  • Under provides a tidier appearance, in that the loose end can be more hidden from view.
  • Under reduces the risk that a toddler or a house pet, such as a dog or cat, will completely unroll the toilet paper when batting at the roll.
  • Under in a recreational vehicle may reduce unrolling during driving.

Your thoughts?

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

5 thoughts on “What Your Hanging Toilet Paper Says About You”

  1. I am definitely an “over” hanger but that says NOTHING about my income! LOL!

    I really do love these interesting tidbits that you find and add your unique spin to. I catch myself laughing out-loud whenever I land on your blog!

    On a more somber note, I, like just about everybody else with a pulse, need a good laugh today because I am so heartbroken over Prince. As a real music fan, I am sure that you are definitely feeling it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind and motivating comments – as always they’re very welcomed. I don’t know what category I’m in when it comes to hanging toilet paper – the lazy ass folks category I suppose. I place the roll on the back of the commode LOL. Guys having the toilet seat up toilet seat down tug of war with their live-in girlfriends or wives should put the toilet paper on the back of the commode if they want to get off the toilet seat argument. They’ll forget all about the toilet seat and really double down on you for not hanging the paper – LOL.

      Yes I was shocked and saddened by the passing of the artist known as Prince. He was one of those musicans that had something for everyone and embraced the power of uniqueness. I have just come to grips with the sudden passing of Vanity earlier this year and now the matriarch of the “Minneappolis Gang” is gone. I am a fan of both.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL! See I can always rely on you for a hilarious perspective—I am talking about your distraction technique with the toilet paper! Love it!

        Any yes, Vanity’s death was hard too. It is very difficult to see those singers that you grew up loving. I often think of Michael. I once saw an interview where he was shown looking at a video of his younger self performing. He looked so sad! I thought to myself, “Wow! That is really saying something.” It seemed clear to me that he really wanted to be a kid without the responsibilities of entertaining folks all the time.

        Do you ever wonder if we just plain wear entertainers out?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know the demands for access by the fans , and the rigorous grind of producing new material and tours wears them down. I’ve always said it’s a life that pays well (for most) and appears glamorous until you consider the trade offs . Simple things we take for granted – walking in the park, eating undisturbed at a restaurant, going shopping – Hell walking to the end of the drive to get the morning paper – almost become taboo for mega stars and life has to feel like imprisonment at some point. Yes they know this when they sign up for the big time but I’m betting a large percentage of them will tell you – Yes the money is good – but the fame is not what it seems on the outside.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

