The 2016 White House Correspondents’ Dinner – Larry Wilmore Bombed, Stanked, And Tanked

A Geo opinion. There is a time and a place for everything and every word.

 

cropped-geo-caracature.png
Opinion From Geo

 

I don’t need to see any poles or talk to anyone about this. The host of The Nightly Show, Larry Wilmore was out of his element on stage at The 2016 White House Correspondents’ Dinner. He went joke after joke only to sink deeper into the abyss of stone faces, blank stares, and moans, and headshakes.

Wilmore’s ship got stuck at the  dock from the git go when he opened with,

 “Welcome to Negro night here at the Washington Hilton” he begins. “Or as Fox news will report, ‘Two thugs disrupt elegant dinner in DC.”

He seemed hell bent on tap dancing with race – which would have been cool if there was some class to his tap dancing. Some of his dialogue could be labeled off-color at best overall simply not funny.

The only reason this fool wasn’t heckled is because most of the attendees of the event were folks of means and class and knew better that to step in the cesspool Wilmore couldn’t get himself out of.

The jokes were drier than a witch’s titty.

“Vice President Joe Biden is here, nice to see you, vice president. That’s great. I heard Joe’s retiring, moving back to Delaware, which is good. He won’t have to answer any more difficult questions like, “Hey, don’t I know you from somewhere?”

A kid could comedically ribbed the Vice President better than that.

And how about the worn out, done before “Mr, President being President has aged you. That one was used last year.

“And let me just say, Mr. President, the office has taken its toll on you. You look terrible, Mr. President. No, you do man! I mean look at you! Your hair is so white, it tried to punch me at a Trump rally.”

Then another race joke with no rhyme or reason behind it.

“Oh, by the way, you guys, Black Lives Matter is here tonight. I’m just kidding. Relax, white people, they’re not here. It’s just a joke. Just relax, just relax.”

Then there was a race joke with a little substance although not totally factual.

“MSNBC — MSNBC here tonight? No? Which actually now stands for “Missing a Significant Number of Black Correspondents.” Am I wrong? They like fired Melissa Harris-Perry, they canceled Joy Reid, they booted Touré. I heard they put Chris Hayes on probation because they thought he was related to Isaac Hayes. That’s wrong.”

What’s wrong is he didn’t know what the hell he was talking about. MSNBC had dumped a number of Black talent but they’d also gave Joy Reid Mellisa Harris-Perry’s time slot. As far as Toure’ goes — the jury is still out on just how Black his ass is.

Wilmore stumbled, bumbled, and fumbled his way to his biggest f***k up of his performance where he basically called the President of The United States a “Nigga” on live TV.

“Words alone do me no justice. So, Mr. President, if i’m going to keep it 100: Yo, Barry, you did it, my nigga. You did it.”

Please ya’ll – don’t bum rush me – I get the term of endearment from one Black man to another ideology.

I’ve used the phrase myself in the context and to brothers that know and appreciate the affirmation.

However, even as the stamp of the highest credibility, bonding, and appreciating, all Black folk know there are certain folks at certain times you don’t say that to.

Think I got in the wrong Kool -Aide?

Try calling your Mom or Dad “my nigga”.

Call your wife your nigga. Hope you enjoy sleeping with the dog.

Hit your Black boss with that one -at the next meeting – let me know how you made out at the unemployment office. Oh, when the employment office gives you a job lead – follow it – ask the good people you are sent to “Ya’ll niggas “hyin?”.

The next time you are tasked with addressing a large group of Blacks open with “My fellow niggas”. Try that one in church.  See my issue with Wilmore dragging a street term of endearment into a platform best used to highlight why the word keeps getting fueled up?

I would suggest Larry Wilmore visit the Richard Pryor School of Comedy. Pryor who built a successful career was slapped with an epiphany of sorts while abroad.Here it is.

I’m not going to tie up my readers by annotating Wilmore’s train wreck of a performance at The 2016 White House correspondents’ Dinner. Y’all can read the transcript in its entirety HERE.

What are your thoughts on Larry Wilmore’s performance and content at the 2016 Whitehouse Correspondent’s Dinner?

 

 

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

6 thoughts on “The 2016 White House Correspondents’ Dinner – Larry Wilmore Bombed, Stanked, And Tanked”

  1. Well, I didn’t watch it and from what I’ve read here, I’m glad that I did not! I don’t use the ‘N’ word unless I am writing about how politicians will court the Black vote but still perceive Black people to be their ‘Plantation N******. However, I do not use it in my everyday life when speaking and engaging with other Black folks.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Shelby you are commended as one of many that refuse to re fuel the the engine that alows this epithet to continue its travel among society. Personally I feel the word has run it’s course – and it’s people like Wilmore that agree with me – yet the climb up on major platforms like the last media dinner for the first for African
      American President and for the attempted sake of laughs re-energize the word.

      Thanks for weighing in on the topic Shelby – your thoughts and positions are always welcomed here.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Uh..no thanks! I’ll pass!
    I actually didn’t watch it because I hated being reminded that this was our dear President’s last one. Like you, I can appreciate the N-word in the right context; however, I would never feel so compelled to refer to our President as such!

    I don’t give a damn if he really was my nigga!

    Thank you for a very thorough post. Based on your assessment, I too, have no need to read any additional polls or reviews to get a feel for what happened.

    Thanks for sacrificing for the rest of us!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It is absolutely inappropriate to address the President the way he did! Joking or not, the WHCD – ESPECIALLY President Obama’s last – was NOT the time or place. Although, I have to wonder if he approved it first.

    I am proud to say I do not use the n-word and I really hate to read it from others. It still represents the ultimate disrespect to me and I think about my grandparents when I hear it. No way.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

