Back In The Good Old Days

seekthebestblog – this one is for y’all cause y’all do back in the day better than any blogger I know.

Telephone-1The forty and over crowd will enjoy this back to the past post. It takes you back to when life was methodical, men wore suits on a daily basis, and a quarter was big money.

It takes you back to when smartphones didn’t exist but phone booths did. Gas stations sold gas and repaired cars and didn’t meddle in the food business because just down the street was a restaurant or drugstore soda counter that provided those provisions.

Grocery stores sold groceries, department stores sold clothes, and hardware stores sold hardware.

Yes, this is a ride back in time where I would be writing this with my trusty #2 pencil in my Big Chief tablet.

Enjoy the ride!!

Do you remember????…………

All  the girls had ugly gym uniforms?

It  took five minutes for the TV to warm  up?

Nearly  everyone’s Mom was at home when the kids got  home from school?

Nobody  owned a purebred dog?

You’d  reach into a muddy gutter for a  penny?

All  your male teachers wore neckties and female  teachers had their hair done every day and wore  high heels?

You  got your windshield cleaned, oil checked, and  gas pumped, without asking, all for free, every  time? And you didn’t pay for air? And, you got  trading stamps to boot?

Laundry  detergent had free glasses, dishes or towels  hidden inside the box?

It was considered a great privilege to be taken out  to dinner at a real restaurant with your  parents?

They  threatened to keep kids back a grade if they  failed. And they did it!

When  a 57 Chevy was everyone’s dream car…to cruise,  peel out, lay rubber or watch submarine races,  and people went steady?

No  one ever asked where the car keys were because  they were always in the car, in the ignition,  and the doors were never locked?

Lying  on your back in the grass with your  friends?
and  saying things like, ‘That cloud looks like a…  ‘?

Playing  baseball with no adults to help kids with the  rules of the game?

Stuff  from the store came without safety caps and  hermetic seals because no one had yet tried to  poison a perfect stranger?

When  being sent to the principal’s office was  nothing compared to the fate that awaited  the student at home?

Teach  these kids some respect.

Basically, we were in  fear for our lives, but it wasn’t because of  drive-by shootings, drugs, gangs, etc. Our  parents and grandparents were a much bigger  threat! But we survived because their love was  greater than the threat.

Summers filled with bike rides,  baseball games, Hula Hoops, bowling and visits  to the pool, and eating Kool-Aid powder with  sugar.

Didn’t that feel good, just to  go back and say, ‘Yeah, I remember  that’?

And How About These ??

Bubble Gum cigarettes

Orange harmonicas made out of chewable sweet wax

Soda pop machines that dispensed glass  bottles.

Blackjack, Clove and Teaberry chewing gum.

Home milk delivery in glass bottles with cardboard  stoppers.

Newsreels  before the movie.

Pro Keds
Telephone  numbers with a word prefix….(Raymond 4-601).  Party lines.
Cracker Jacks with the prize.

Howdy  Dowdy

Hi-Fi’s  & 45 RPM records.

78  RPM records!

Green  Stamps
Mimeograph  paper

The  Fort Apache Play Set.

Do  You Remember a Time  When..

Decisions were made by  going ‘eeny-meeny-miney-moe’?

Mistakes  were corrected by simply exclaiming, ‘Do  Over!’?

‘Race  issue’ meant arguing about who ran the  fastest?

Catching  The Fireflies Could Happily Occupy An Entire  Evening?

It wasn’t odd to have two or three ‘Best  Friends’?

The  worst thing you could catch from the opposite  sex was ‘cooties’?

Having  a weapon in school meant being caught with a  Slingshot?

Saturday  morning cartoons weren’t 30-minute commercials  for action figures?

‘Oly-oly-oxen-free’ made  perfect sense?

Spinning around, getting  dizzy, and falling down was cause  for giggles?

The Worst  Embarrassment was being picked last for a  team?

War was a card  game and not a lot of life and money expended in a foreign country?

Baseball  cards in the spokes transformed any bike into a  motorcycle?

Taking drugs meant orange –  flavored chewable aspirin?

Water balloons were the ultimate  weapon?

If  you can remember most or all of these, Then You  Have Lived!!!!!!!

Gwin @ seekthebestblog honey, this one is for you.

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

5 thoughts on “Back In The Good Old Days”

  1. “Back in the Good Old Days”gave me that same “warm all over” feeling as that first sip of yak used to; before, I switched to “red Kool-Aid”.

    I chuckled all the way thru. Yu reignited some fond memories. What about the little wax cola bottles with the drop of “cola” inside?

    Man, I just had a jaded thought…those folks back then sure knew how to get a kid`s nickel! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for investing the time to read the post and offer your always welcome insight Ron. Yes my brother I do remember those little wax “coke” bottles. I used to love them. And you right about folks knowing how to get a kid’s nickel. They knew how to get their pennies too (penny candy??)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww man G! You got me crying down here!

    I’m tearing up because of your beautiful dedication to the blog …..and because the post was so funny. But seriously, this piece is very touching!

    G, frankly, I think you got us beat with the memories because some of these things made me go “oh snap, I completely forgot about that!” I remember me and mama filling out those S&H green stamp books so that we could save up and buy something later. Also, my godfather had those old 78 records-my friend and I were just talking about those things the other day.

    There are so many treasures here that you have brought back to mind. I hate to be the one who is always talking about the good ole days, but I think that we sometimes need a break from all of the terrible things that we are seeing in the news. No doubt both you and I seek to provide our readers with that safe haven.

    G, I just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for putting us on! We are a small blog and it is so wonderful to know that someone like you likes what we do. I wish you much love and light!
    Always,
    Gwin
    PS. I ran across this when I was looking for your post about Maureen going from chat room to reality-I got so caught up in it that people were blowing at me while I was in the carpool line at my daughter’s school. I was so immersed! Talk about some good writing? What!!!! Let me get back to reading! 😉 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s nothing at all wrong with re-visiting times that nourished our hearts and souls with knowledge, enjoyment and spirituality – The now era needs to hear about those times.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

