Obama Administration’s Changes to Overtime Pay Will Increase Wages of Millions of American Workers


MONEY

As of Tuesday, May 18th, 2016 the Obama Administration began finalizing new guidelines governing overtime pay in the U.S.The new guidelines will make millions of American workers eligible for overtime pay.

The rule says anyone who makes less than $47,476 per year must receive time-and-a-half pay for hours worked beyond 40 hours a week. That’s roughly double the current threshold of $23,660.

The rule change is authorized under New Deal-era legislation called the Fair Labor Standards Act.

The measure is one of the more aggressive moves the Obama administration has made so far in its efforts to boost slow-growing incomes.

The new changes are slated rto in effect December 1, 2016

It’s certain to face opposition from some business owners.

 

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

2 thoughts on “Obama Administration’s Changes to Overtime Pay Will Increase Wages of Millions of American Workers”

  1. I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever
    work and exposure! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

    Like

  2. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot.
    I am hoping to present something again and help others like you helped me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

