How To Use Evernote For More Productive Blogging and Writing


maxresdefault2
I have used just about every app imaginable to facilitate my blogging posts, drafts, and research. I’ve employed countless hacks in my quest to capture and organize sources, references, and information  and I keep coming back to Evernote.
Why?

Evernote is easy to use, highly customizable, and free. It does what it was designed to do better than any of its  competitors – which is capture, organize, and contain information.

For those new to Evernote it’s a robust note taking system built around an analog notebook and notes ideology that incorporates advances in technology to yield one of the most effective text, voice and image capture storage portals in existence. It runs on all the popular operating systems and on most all mobile devices. This gives you access to your Evernote files from most anywhere.

 

Think about the old school binders you used to carry that  contained several spiral notebooks on the inside and you’ll have a general idea of the Evernote concept.

I should mention that Evernote can be used to organize anything you need organizing in your life. You can put together your own personally designed task management system using it’s reminder and checkbox features. I use it as a catchall for everything that comes my way.

A little upfront set up has returned me a blogging management system that’s unparalleled by anything else I’ve tried.

It’s important to know that if you want to add more organization to your writing projects a  little pre-set up of tags and notebooks in Evernote will yield you some big dividends.
Here’s what my Evernote blogging management system looks like.
I have a Master Notebook (big binder).Under this notebook are sub-notebooks (spiral notebooks).
5103833_orig
Analog Version of Evernote’s Master Notebook
My master notebook is named after the blog I set it up to manage. The idea behind the addition of sub-notebooks is to have  capture and archive books for every pertinent component of the blog. Just like you had a spiral binder for every subject in school.
61buveru8bl-_sy355_
The Analog Version of Evernote,s Sub Notebooks
Here are my notebooks. “Blogging Master Notebook” is the master notebook.
Screenshot_2016-03-21-11-42-52
The GeoGee Experience – Master Notebook
Tentative Topics / Ideas
Drafts
Published
Sources
People
Photos / Videos
Reviews

Now I double down on being able to find all relative material to a notebook and blog post by a copious use of Evernote’s tagging option.

Think  of tags as those flimsy yellow paper pages you used in binders to separate sections of the binder by subject class etc. You know the ones with the colored tabs that extended beyond the pages.

I have tags named after  every notebook I have set up. I also create a tag for every blog post I work on. Anything that I capture that’s relative to a particular post gets a tag named after the post’s title.The beauty in this is when I want to see everything related to a particular post that I’m working on or have published – a tag search pulls it all together in one place.

So If I’m working on a post entitled “bloggers I love” I make sure to create a tag for “bloggers I love” assign that tag to all captured information related to the post “Bloggers I Love”. I also create a tag for that blog I love ie seekthebestblog.

Here are some of the tags exclusive to my  blog.
Tentative Topics / Ideas
Drafts
Sources
People
Photos
Videos
Reviews
Posted

Why is tagging important?

A lot of the information for my blog posts and articles come from multiple sources so a lot of times it takes more than Google to compile the information needed to bring the post to fruition.

I gather the information necessary for the post from Google and other sources and capture it in Evernote. Tagging gives me a robust search return on any topic.  The tag search brings up everything related to that particular tag.

Links

Also inside the draft itself, I can put links. If there is some notes in Evernote relative to what I’m working on I simply put a link to those  I link to reference material that I have come across while the draft is in progress. These links are cleaned up before public posting.

I also make vigorous use of Evernote’s Web clipper Google Chrome Extension. If you’re a source checker and reference hound this feature will be Christmas come early for you. I’ll let the good folks over at Evernote tell you how to use the web clipper – Go Here.

More on my notebooks.
I also use my notebooks to store blogging enhancement information. This is information like links to Creative Commons image, thesaurus, youtube, etc .
For example, I keep a note in my photos notebook that has the names and links to the sites I use for images. Also in this particular note I store images sizing specifications for particular areas of the blog like the sidebar and header.
Using Evernote for events and appointments.
I have meetings with other writers that work on the blog, appointments with sources, and scheduled times to get drafts to reviewers and editors. Evernote’s reminder option takes care of any “to do” and time-sensitive commitments.

This short tutorial illustrates how Reminders work.

I tag reminders to match the project they belong to so that a search extracts them and everything they are related to from all the other information in the database and return just what I need to see.

Oh, I also have a notebook  labeled “Published”. All published pieces get moved out of the Draft notebook into the “Published” notebook  adding a “published” tag to the existing tags attached to the post. I also remove the “tentative draft” tag from published post so published post won’t show up in a search for “tentative drafts”.

Speaking of search. Evernote has one of the most powerful search mechanisms out there. If you can remember the beginning of the word of what you’re searching for in your Evernote  database more than likely you can find it with ease.

And that’s about it.
There are a multitude of articles on how to incorporate Evernote into your writing routine. None including this one is one size fits all.
Your objective should be to use Evernote as a tool to make your writing endeavors more organized, and efficient.
I’d  love to hear some  of your blogging organization tips and styles in the comment section,
Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

2 thoughts on “How To Use Evernote For More Productive Blogging and Writing”

  1. Ron is working with this app now–thanks to your suggestion.

    He actually had training on it before but did not really care for it. But because of this post, he decided to revisit it!

    Holla at your boy because he trynta make it work.
    LOL

    Thanks again for a helpful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

