Pit Bulls And Black Men


Bella

Coming out of the house this morning I noticed I had a new neighbor. She is cute and was watching me intently with a lot of interest. I made a mental note to go over and speak to her when I got back from work.

When I got back she was in the same area as she was in the morning.  When she saw me she perked up, started jumping up and down and yelping loudly.

Well damn, its not every day I run into a nice looking strange lady that I have such an effect on that she starts jumping up and down and speaking in tongues.

I said to myself “Let me go over heah and meet this lady”.

I walked over into my neighbor’s yard and as I was approaching this lady she really got excited. Running in circles, jumping high in the air, wagging her behind, yelping louder.

When I got within reach she jumped on me – sniffing me licking me. I’m like “Whoa baby I don’t even know your name”.

She didn’t speak English – she didn’t need to. She showed me how she felt.

Oh and she has gold eyes! Gold eyes y’all.

I patted her, stroked her well groomed “do”. I spent about 10 minutes getting acquainted with this little frisky lady.

She showed me her ball – pushing it to my feet with her nose. I rolled it a few times and she ran, got it and brought it back to me. A lady that fetches – hmm this is new.

When I left she raised all kind of hell. Her actions said “Don’t go! Please don’t go!

I knew I was going to see this lady again and get to know her better. And I did.

The lady’s name is Bella. She’s an 11-month-old Pit Bull and is as sweet as ripe grapes on a vine. Her little ass is jealous too. Since our first

Since our first meeting, I’ve visited Bella quite a bit. We even went on a date (I took her for a walk) and she loved it. But I noticed she protests loudly when I show anybody else any attention in her presence. But then that’s not out of character for a lady that’s interested in a man now is it?

You see Bella and I (as a  Black man) have something in common. We both live under stereotyped clouds. I don’t have to tell anybody about the stereotype Black men deal with. Bella being a Pit Bull is instantly hated by many because of some the atrocities members of her breed have committed. There are people out there that will shoot us both on sight on the premise of some stereotyped notion and go in a court and get away with it.

Yeah, this little dog kinda brings the real of it all home.

Bella just wants love, affection, and something to eat and drink and she’s good.

As Bella grows to full size I hope she can deal with her stereotype growing with her. I know of what I speak.

As a full grown Pit Bull she will give some folks a license to shoot her on sight and lie about why they did it. It’s the same predicament grown Black Men face every day.

It’s a hard fit in this society when the shot callers have brainwashed the keepers of the gate you are a menace to that society.

Fortunately for little Bella – she has found a home with some people that see her as an individual and not some horrible freak of nature.

In the meantime, I’ve got living as a Black man to deal with.

Thanks Bella for taking the edge off of the sharp serrated knife of bigotry and hatred.

Glad I met you lady.

Author: Geo Gee

I'm a curious one that finds politics, social issues, and diverse progressive solutions interesting. I believe information and education are the most powerful weapons one can arm himself with. Those two dynamics alone open the doors to opportunities. I also subscribe to each one teach one for a better world for all.

4 thoughts on “Pit Bulls And Black Men”

  1. Love that one G!

    By the way, when I was little my dad used to rescue dogs. I was raised with Dobermans, German Shepherds, Beagles, Cocker Spaniels…..and the list goes on! I wrote a bit about that in a post called “The Doggy as The Teacher.”

    Anyway, you gave us a very clever and appropriate comparison between black men and this breed. It saddens me because I know that what you’ve said here is very true.

    Thanks Brah! By the way, I wonder what Uncle Eugene would say?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to have slip that question to Uncle Eugene (who by the way is coming up in a post again. Now about you and these dogs – every time you turn a page in the book of your life the upcoming page reveals something magnificent. My deceased best friend, beer drinking buddy, jail house lawyer, late night running buddy, and go to therapist, Bandit – who is Rat Terrier taught me many lessons- one of them is that a sister that likes dogs is as sister you can trust. I heading over to read “The Doggy is The Teacher”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw man I missed this comment G! You are sooo funny! I wish I could have met that dude!
        And yes I am a die hard dog lover. I am just getting used to the little doggy that I have now. I had a Rottweiler before that named Amen Ra! LOL!!!
        Again, I am so glad you like that post!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Bandit would’ve loved you! He was a straight 4 leggged Macdaddy always putting on antics for female attention. The little pimp would have himself eating out of their hands in no time- never understood why his little ass didn’t get fat – everybody and their brother was always giving him treats for showing off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

